The ULTIMATE Breakfast Quesadilla

OK you guys, I attempted to make a video tutorial of how to make the best breakfast quesadilla… but my embarrassingly subpar video skills totally didn’t work. There was no way I was uploading a video with my arm covering half the screen LOL. So, pictures it is – which I think totally represents how delicious this quesadilla really is. Maybe I need to get Mark to buy me a tripod… *hint hint!

I freakin’ love quesadillas. I could eat them for every meal – plain cheese, shredded chicken, steak, LOVE them all! One of my favorite quesadillas of all time is from this little crappy drive-thru in Arizona that’s open 24/7. I can guarantee you that it is FAR from healthy, but man is it goooood.

Well, I decided to make a healthy breakfast version and it is DELICIOUS! Mark is wanting one at all hours of the day – and I will tell you he is by far my toughest critic.

What you will need for this recipe / what i use:
  • Tortillas – living in AZ, we find the BEST homemade tortillas. But, I do love Trader Joe’s homemade tortillas or Mission 100% whole wheat for regular use!
  • Eggs or egg whites
  • Cheese – I always buy
  • Sliced ham or turkey
  • Spinach
  • Sliced peppers
  • Sliced Mushrooms
I always pre-slice and pre-measure my ingredients so they’re ready for use!

Heat your pan with non-stick cooking spray and saute your veggies first until they are cooked all the way through.

Now time for the eggs! I cook the ends on low to medium temperature so the bottom doesn’t burn. You’re going to cook it similar to how you would cook an omelet.

When your eggs are almost cooked through, cover with a tortilla and cook for another minute – the eggs will stick to the tortilla and make it easy to flip!

Flip it, add your meat and cheese, and let cook for a minute or two – give your tortilla time to crisp up a bit on the bottom.

Lastly, fold your quesadilla over and let the cheeses melt. Serve with salsa, guac, cowboy caviar, or whatever you’d like! YUM!!

The recipe:

This is the easiest and most delicious breakfast quesadilla. You can feed your taste buds with any and all ingredients you LOVE.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tortilla
  • 2 eggs, 2-3 egg whites, or a combination of the two
  • 1/4 cup shredded light cheddar-jack
  • 1 slice ham
  • handful spinach
  • 2 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 small red bell pepper, sliced

Instructions:

  1. Pre-slice and pre-measure your vegetables, cheese, and whisk your eggs in a small bowl.
  2. Heat your pan on medium heat and saute your mushrooms, spinach, and peppers until cooked through.
  3. Lower the temperature to medium to low and pour in your egg mixture, moving it around slowly, but keeping it in an omelet shape.
  4. When the eggs are almost cooked through, cover with a tortilla and cook for a minute or so – enough to let the eggs stick to the tortilla.
  5. Flip your tortilla over, add your ham and cheese and cook for a minute or so – enough to let the tortilla crisp up.
  6. Fold over and let the cheeses melt.
  7. Enjoy with salsa, guac, or cowboy caviar!

Another version I made with turkey, egg whites, spinach, and MOZZARELLA.

Be creative with your ingredients!

As always, leave a comment or tag me, amberrfitness, in your Always Hungry recipes on Instagram. You can also fill in the contact form! I look forward to hearing from you!

One thought on “The ULTIMATE Breakfast Quesadilla

Comments are closed.